Stuck in Square One

The hardest part is beginning. How do you start? Where do you start?

As you stare at that blank word document, no ideas, no inspiration.

As music plays in the background, maybe some food on the side and the television playing in the near distance, hopefully SOMETHING will pop up and spark the light bulb in the brain.

One of my recent ambitions and goals has been to try and write a book. Every time I start it seems like it’s going well until I hit that brick wall. Funny thing is, I seem to have come around the same brick wall a few times now. In my head, this reoccurring book idea seems golden, but on paper it just doesn’t come out how I expect it to.

Each book idea is different though. I’ve thought of great book ideas that play out like movies in my mind.

Other times I think of writing a book to my life. That seems very boring though.

Maybe I’m still just looking for that true inspiration that will spark a perfect idea for a book that I will look forward to writing every day.

I just know that I have to keep writing. I just have to keep pushing through all of the slow days, and crap that comes and goes through my mind. That’s the life of a writer… I guess.

Some days I get so frustrated  with writer’s block that I want to spaz out on the keyboard and just type aksdjfaldjfas;ldkfjaoiewfpaowejkejfa;wjeioaw …….for hours.

When I watch movies, or especially when I’m in journalism class, ideas pop into mind. But when I reach my dorm room, it seems like that idea was stupid as hell.

If I could write a book full of ideas that I’ve come up with that have failed I’d already be finished.

3 thoughts on “Stuck in Square One

  1. I love this.

    I’ve been writing since I was in 5th grade, and I haven’t really written much since early 12th grade. College decisions, graduation, spending my last days with everyone that summer, and then going to Towson and making new friends and committing to the academics, it’s all gotten in the way of me sitting back down again and writing for fun, writing down all these stories that have been in my head for the past two years.

    I changed my minor for the final time to English yesterday. I realized that I want to better both my writing for journalism and also my own writing in my spare time. I would love to write a book as well, and I can totally sympathize with the writer’s block and also the intimidation of a blank piece of paper or Word document. It’s scary, in a way, putting your imagination into words, baring your thoughts and the stories that YOU want to tell. Will other people like it? Is this stupid? Do I even know where I’m going with this? And then, if you do manage to get a few sentences down, is that sentence coherent? Did I use the right verb? Is that description accurate to how I envisioned it?

    Winter break has been SUCH a blessing, because I’ve finally been able to have my own quiet space to just write and write and write, with no papers or assignments due at the end of the weekend or whatever. It’s been relaxing, and I’m excited to finally be getting back to the passion that I’ve always carried in my since I was 9 years old. I see this post is a little over a month old, so I hope that since then and since winter break began, you’ve been able to spend some time with yourself and your imagination and just rain hell on whatever story/stories you have planned (or at least, BEGIN to rain hell). Once you finally get the groove and the confidence, it’s a fantastic learning experience about your own writing and mind.

    1. Thank you so much Elise. I really appreciate your comment and support to my writing and my chaotic thoughts. I was very surprised yet happy to see a comment this morning when I opened up my blog. Hopefully by blogging at least once a day, my writing will just take it’s course and hopefully things will fall into place for my story ideas eventually.

      I definitely see what you mean about writing being a passion but coming with its complications I fully understand you on that and have been there many times myself. Actually sitting in Doc Spaulding’s class this fall, I generated many great story ideas but when I rushed back to my dorm to start writing it just seemed stupid. I typed as fast as my fingers could go but once I reached a certain point, it’s like I hit a road block. A few days later I was almost tempted to delete the word document because I couldn’t believe I even wrote that.

      In my mind, virtually my story ideas seem brilliant. However, on paper they don’t come out the same way. I remember Spaulding showed us that video in class pertaining to photographers continuing to work and work, taking picture by picture even through their own personal struggles. I guess that’s what we writers must keep doing as well. Just write every day and push through the storm because one day everything will work itself out and we will find daylight.

      I think it would be really cool to write a book that no one would ever imagine being written, and landing oneself on Oprah’s book club or some other television show for an interview.

  2. Of course! No problem 🙂 I remembered from Nichols’ class that you liked to blog more often than our usual assignments. I think she talked about it in class once, one of your personal posts and I went to read it and I figured this semester you’d keep up with it as well 🙂

    It’s so intimidating to sit down and start typing, but confidence will always be your most important skill as a writer. Write what you know, so maybe you can teach a reader something new or show a subject in a new light. But having confidence in the way that you SHOW you know what you’re talking about and enlightening your reader to a new dimension is always what matters most. The more you write, the more you get used to writing, and the quicker you’ll be able to find your niche and style and be able to pound sentences out. There’s something really fascinating about the way every individual person produces sentences. One sentence from someone’s book can really say a lot about their personal style and character. It’s all about honing it.

    What’s helped me over the years and during my “dry spell” is writing what I call “scenes”. It may not be a full chapter and it may make no sense out of context, but if you have your idea for your story in mind, and this one scene just keeps replaying in your head, try to write that instead of worrying about other details like what lead up to that scene or what the consequences of that scene will be. Those details can come later. You have all the time in the world to figure out your plot, and nobody is telling you that you have to write in order from start to finish either 😉 Most of my years I’ve written out of order. Whatever you’re most excited about, write it, so you don’t forget it or dwell to much on it. Let it happen!

    That’s SO crazy that you say that because I was watching an old episode of Oprah yesterday and kept thinking about her Book Club, and how she has catapulted virtual unknowns to absolute fame and bestseller lists by featuring their books on her show. It’d be awesome to get interviewed by like, Matt Lauer on the Today Show because of a book that I wrote and am absolutely proud of.

Leave a Reply

