Money Dogs

wall-street-582918_1920

I just watched The Wolf of Wall Street, and I have to say, it was a great movie. It truly captivated the story about the rise and fall of Jordan Belfort, the former stockbroker who was convicted of fraud crimes related to stock market manipulation and spent 22 months in federal prison.

For those of you who have seen the movie, I’d be interested to hear your thoughts. If you’re among the crowd who hasn’t been able to see it yet, you should. Every single actor and actress did a phenomenal job, and Martin Scorsese impressed me once again like he always does.

It’s a long movie, three hours to be approximate. However, there are some scenes that make your mind lose track of time, and you forget you’ve even been watching it for that long because you’re so zoned in to what’s happening.

The movie really shows how money can turn anyone into a monster. It may be nice to live in the fast lane, flying first class and having more money than you can spend rolling in on a  weekly basis.

Nice cars, expensive clothes, a big house, and reservations at the finest restaurants in town is exactly what heaven on earth is depicted to be.

Yet, I don’t see how it could possibly be worth it. Drugs and sex are such a huge aspect of the film, that I was actually turned off by the lifestyle of the rich and famous.

It seems like all we hear about celebrities these days is drug addiction, crime, scandals and affairs, divorce, corruption, bankruptcy, and unfortunate truths that come out after the fact.

Money is by far one of the worst things in life. People get greedy and don’t know when to quit because they always want more. There was a quote in the movie that even said, if you can’t sell and do a good job, you’re lazy and you should work at McDonald’s.

I would rather work a simple job that didn’t pay as much but made me happy, than conform to the fake and corrupt ways of the snobs. Living in a materialistic world only brings pain and misery.

That’s where I now find myself stuck in the middle. Once I graduate in May, I’ll start a job right after school with a staffing services company in downtown Baltimore. It’s an entry level sales position, that has plenty of potential for promotion and success.

Don’t get me wrong, I love making money. I just don’t want to turn into someone like Jordan Belfort who prides himself on selling no matter what, even if it means deceiving clients and doing anything to bring in more money.

At the same time, I have to mentally prepare myself for what is coming very soon. Every day I’ll have to bring energy and a goal-oriented mindset to work, so that I can sell and market myself and the company for the benefit of my career.

The way I look at the situation is that, I’ve been given a golden opportunity to get a job right out of school. College students can only dream of being that lucky. Obviously I can’t criticize or even view the office culture in a negative manner, or I’ll get fired. I basically have to go along with the system and learn how to play the game.

All I want out of life is to make an honest living for myself and make my parents proud. After watching that movie, I know that snorting countless lines of cocaine and popping pills is not the answer to making a sale each and every day. Becoming a sex addict is also probably not wise, just like blowing all my income on booze, drugs, prostitutes, vacations, boats, helicopters, houses, cars, and clothes is also very unwise.

The FBI agent who busted Belfort in the movie, made me realize that riding the subway at the end of the day with an average job isn’t the worst thing in the world. It sure as hell beats prison.

Leave a Reply

